Skip to content

Earrings

17 June 2011

Last time, I made a navy and yellow necklace to match an outfit I like to wear, and I outlined the materials and steps you would need to go through to make one of your own. I’m not really a bracelet kind of girl, but I do like to wear earrings as well as necklaces, so I decided to make myself a pair of earrings to go with the necklace (and of course I’ll show you how to make those, too!)

Navy and Yellow Necklace and Earrings
Supplies you’ll need include:

  • 6 focus beads (I used navy 6mm bicone crystals)
  • seed beads (I used yellow ones) (these are optional – you’ll still get lovely earrings if you leave them out)
  • thin chain – about 6″ total would be plenty
  • 2 earring hooks
  • flathead pins
  • jumprings or wire to make your own
  • roundnose and snipper pliers plus, ideally, two pair of flathead pliers. (Except for the roundnose pliers, there’s a good chance you have these in your garage!)

Start by cutting your chain into 6 even lengths with the snipper pliers (1). I used 8 links of chain each, which totals about 3/4″ each. I find I get more consistent results if I count links rather than measure the chain. If you’re doing this, remember to count out the number of links you want, and then cut the next one (because since it’s cut, it will not be part of your finished segment).
Next, turn your focus beads into charms. Put the flathead pin through the bead, and bend the pin at a 90 degree angle right above the bead. Keep about 3/4″ of the pin past the bead, and cut off the rest (2).

Jewelry Earring Tutorial

Wrap the part of the flathead pin that sticks out from the bead around your roundnose pliers, creating a loop to attach to the jumprings (3). Its ok if this loop overlaps!
Now attach the chain, seed beads, and focus bead charms to the jumpring. Open up the jumpring with the flathead pliers, and string the following onto the jumpring in this order:  seed bead, focus bead charm, seed bead, chain (below). Then close this up, and you have one ‘dangle’ for your earrings (4).

adding beads to the jump ring
To finish the earrings up, open up another jumpring with your pliers. String on: a seed bead, three chains (the ends not connected to beads already), another seed bead, and then the loop on the bottom of your earring hook. Close up the jumpring, and you’ve finished an earring!


I’ve shared this post at some of these places.

<3,
Julia

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 29 November 2013 10:18 PM

    I will right away take hold of your rss as I can not find your e-mail subscription link or newsletter
    service. Do you have any? Kindly permit me recognize so that I may subscribe.
    Thanks.

  2. esther permalink
    17 March 2012 2:58 PM

    It is quite nice, well done & thank you!

  3. Gloria permalink
    14 March 2012 12:27 PM

    I just adore both the necklace and these earrings! Thank you for taking the time to share these tutorials. I’m just starting to try making some jewelry items for myself and I definitely want to try making these. I’ve been gradually collecting the supplies and I’m waiting on an order of beads now….need to buy some chain now too. Thank you!!

  4. 25 June 2011 3:36 PM

    Beautiful!!
    Thank you so much for linking to {nifty thrifty things} last week!
    I hope to see you again tomorrow!
    xoxo,
    Vanessa

  5. 23 June 2011 10:24 AM

    Hi there- found you through Somewhat Simple’s hop and am a new follower. I love making jewelry, just haven’t for a long time! I have always wanted to work with chain- thanks for the inspiration! I hope you have time to follow my life in South Africa by http://withoutcomplexities.blogspot.com

    Have a great week!

  6. 20 June 2011 10:59 PM

    your earrings are gorgeous! Love your step by step tutorial too! Thanks for sharing- I’m visitng via Tip Junkie.

  7. 17 June 2011 11:01 AM

    I took a quick class earlier this year to learn to make earrings because I was going to India to photograph a jewelry project. I had never made earrings before so I loved being able to see the details of how they were made. Thanks for sharing!

Trackbacks

  1. Simple Saturday Tutorials
  2. Necklace to Match my Outfit :) | Stars & Sunshine

Leave a comment