Skip to content

Wild Olive Stitch Swap

19 March 2012

Last month, I joined an embroidery hoop swap at wild olive. When I signed up, I provided some colors and things I like. I got this information about someone else, and whipped up a four inch ready to hang embroidery hoop based on those likes. And someone else should sending me a surprise package in the mail! My partner’s identity is a secret until she receives the package, but until then I thought I’d share what I made.

Birds embroidery

I’m especially pleased with the little heart between the two birds – its made with a bit of the green thread and a bit of the blue thread wrapped together.

aqua zip up pouch
Along with the embroidery hoop, I made a little zipper pouch to send my partner as well. Its a ribbon surrounded by a zipper so that it zips up into this tetrahedron pouch. I used this tutorial (found via pinterest, of course) to make this pouch out of a 20 inch zipper and a 20 inch piece of ribbon. Even with the great instructions, it was still a bit difficult to figure out how to wrap up the ends of the zipper, but I’m very pleased with how it turned out. I happened to get a 10 gallon bag full of a variety of colorful zippers for about $10 this summer from a craigslist listing, so I had plenty of zippers to choose from 🙂

Embroidery Hoop and Zip Pouch
Here’s the full embroidery hoop (with some information that would give away my partner’s identity conveniently hidden by the zipper pouch). I painted the outside hoop brown to match the branch with acrylic paint. I also used a pretty green floral print to finish of the back of the hoop.

Hoop Back

I had a surprisingly great time whipping this embroidery hoop up. Now I just need to send these guys off to my partner 🙂 And I can’t wait to get my surprise package in the mail!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. tayyuba hassan permalink
    7 January 2013 1:33 PM

    your zipper bag is lovely

  2. 26 April 2012 1:13 AM

    How gorgeous are these? Your partner will be very happy! I would be!

  3. Sara permalink
    15 April 2012 4:27 PM

    What a unique little pouch you mastered and the embroidery is darling!

  4. 6 April 2012 10:44 AM

    This is such a great project! I hope you will come link it up at the Pinworthy Project Link Party going on now over on my blog, Just Us Four.

  5. 4 April 2012 3:08 PM

    That zipper bag is great!

  6. mskristiina permalink
    4 April 2012 3:04 PM

    Love the little zipper bag!

  7. 4 April 2012 7:01 AM

    That looks awesome! I would love for you to share at my new linky party “Pin It and Win It Wednesday” @ http://www.cheapcraftymama.com!

  8. 27 March 2012 6:54 AM

    The hoop and the little bag are both adorable! I especially love the sweet spring-y blue color. Great Job!

  9. 26 March 2012 1:43 PM

    The zipper bag is so handy!!! Thanks for sharing!!

    I would love for you to follow my blog so that we can continue to share more craft ideas! 🙂

    Looking forward to more posts,
    Sarah@
    http://www.dottedlinecrafts.blogspot.com

  10. 26 March 2012 6:33 AM

    How lovely! I love both the stitching and the purse (which I have pinned too!)

  11. 25 March 2012 9:41 PM

    How cute! And great find on the bag of zippers 🙂

  12. rollercoasteroflife permalink
    25 March 2012 11:45 AM

    I love the purse. I have seen the tutorial, but not been brave enough to try it myself yet. Am very impressed that you managed it!

  13. 24 March 2012 8:41 PM

    That bag is awesome! I may have to attempt one. And I love that you’re a girl and an engineer – me too! What specialty are you? I’m a computer engineer, and pretty nerdy, so that bag is right up my alley 🙂

    http://www.onedogwoof.blogspot.com

  14. 20 March 2012 11:37 AM

    Your hoop is so fun! I signed up for the stitch swap too but haven’t done mine yet. I’m kind of drawing a blank, even though we were given themes that the recipient likes. How’d you come up with the inspiration for yours?

Trackbacks

  1. May Giveaway Day – Zippers! | Stars & Sunshine
  2. Selbstschließendes Portemonnaie » unikatissimas
  3. Zip-Itself Coin Purse » unikatissima's
  4. May Giveaway Day – Zippers! « Stars & Sunshine
  5. Lace Clay Bowl « Stars & Sunshine

Leave a comment